Friends, family, food

It’s been a very rough week, but what I have come to realize is that food is almost equally present and important as family and friends in a time of need.  Not only do people insist on filling the tummies of those in pain, but cooking, going out to eat, or simply snacking around the kitchen table on cinnamon rugelach creates an atmosphere of comfort and relaxation.  Cooking, eating and dining with family and friends allows a time to for everyone to break from their busy days and indulge in delicious food and conversation–sometimes a much needed getaway from the stress in our lives.  The meals I’ve had this week brought together my mom, sister, aunts, uncles, cousin, grandparents, boyfriend and friends.  We laughed, we cried, but more than anything we appreciated the time we had together.  Don’t worry, this blog isn’t going to turn into my personal diary-I don’t really do diaries…but I felt the need to share my feelings on the importance of eating together with the people you care about because there really is such a thing as comfort food.

I have about three entries I need to write when I get back to Boston (where my camera is)-so look out for those.  In the meantime I’ll leave you with a vibrant summer meal I enjoyed this weekend. After not cooking for over a week I was surprised at how satisfied and relaxed I felt once we sat down at the table to eat the meal we made-it also gave me an itch to get back to my blog.  Our colorful summer meal consisted of a sweet potato salad with chili-lime dressing and a grilled zucchini and bell pepper fattoush-both absolutely refreshing and flavorful.

