Pasta w/ Eggplant Puree

I have been thinking about making this recipe ever since I came across it during my daily scroll through my favorite food blog smitten kitchen.  When I realized I had everything in the fridge for it, it was a done deal.  The recipe was rigatoni with eggplant puree, although I used farfalle and left out the mint to avoid an unnecessary trip to the store.  The toasted pine nuts definitely add a punch of flavor at the end–just make sure you don’t burn them like I always do.  The recipe says to put all of the roasted vegetables in a food processor to make the puree, however, if I make this recipe again I think I would just add the pasta to the roasted veggies.  When they came out of the oven they were bursting with flavor, I think pureeing them lost some of that.  The red pepper flakes also give it a kick (well, duh). I think they were necessary for giving the pasta more flavor but try without them if you aren’t a spice person.

