Maine: Where BLT means “bacon, lobster, tomato”…

Because I grew up landlocked in St. Louis, Missouri in the Midwest, I think I overly appreciate the ability to easily travel to different cities and places in the Northeast.  This summer alone I will have traveled from Boston to New York City, Long Island, Sullivan, ME, Rockport, MA and New Jersey (on Wednesday!).  But this past weekend in Maine was very special.  In just five hours we escaped the treacherous heat in Boston and found ourselves in not only an amazing oasis of natural wonders but a foodie heaven.  We were lucky enough to stay at my Aunt Barb and Uncle Don’s beautiful house in Sullivan, Maine, where they treated us like royalty  (think delicate homemade scones with three different homemade jams prepared for breakfast).  Although I can’t say I’m a lobster fan..I know its shameful to go to Maine and not eat the lobster…everyone else enjoyed fresh lobsters and mussels fished that day from the bay and lobster rolls made from the leftovers.  The one word I would use to describe the food and environment in Sullivan is fresh.  All of our ingredients were basically home grown, hand picked or caught that day, the air was crisp and cool, and the water had that refreshing icy feel to it.  This was not only a trip worth taking, but a trip worth repeating.

 

 

 

