It’s Fall Y’all

Although I would take warm weather over cold any day, I still love those first feelings of fall when the air is crisp and pumpkins start showing up on people’s doorsteps.  Maybe I just get excited because fall means my birthday and Halloween are getting close, but I think it is something for everyone to celebrate.  When I think of fall I always think of apple picking at Eckert’s Ochards back home in St. Louis. It was one of my favorite things to do, most likely because of all the apple treats that followed. Along with my mom’s famous and overly requested apple pie, this apple bread recipe is one of my favorite apple treats.  Compared to my #1 personal favorite chocolate chip banana bread, this loaf is much easier–just pile all the ingredients into one bowl and mix.  Our kitchen literally smelled like a candle shop, I was counting down the seconds until the bread came out of the oven.  I used Honey Crisp apples, which right now are absolutely delicious–I beg you go and get some!  The first loaf got demolished in less than 24 hours…I challenge you to try and keep it for longer.

Apple Raisin Bread
3 cups chopped unpeeled apples
3 cups flour
2 ½ cups sugar
1 ¼ cups vegetable oil
4 eggs beaten
1 tbl. plus 1 tsp vanilla
2 tsp cinnamon
1 ½ tsp salt
1 ½ tsp. baking soda
1 tsp ground cloves
½ tsp baking powder
2/3 cup raisins
½ cup chopped nuts
Heat oven to 325. Generously grease bottoms only of 2 loaf pans. Beat all
ingredients (on low speed about 1 min). Beat on medium speed for 1min. Pour
batter into pans.
Bake one hour or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool 10min. Remove from
pans. Cool completely before slicing. Store up to three months
Frozen
