Sometimes, You Just Need Some Southern Comfort

Sometimes you just need some TLC.  For me, that always has to do with food.  My usual go-to is Matzo Ball Soup-it is my number one comfort food and I would go to great lengths to get it in a time of need. If you’ve never had it, try it.  Living in New Orleans we divulge in a different type of Southern Comfort that usually includes crawfish, red beans, fried shrimp and/or some sort of Creole Sauce.  Chicken pot pie, however, belongs more in the category of a traditional southern comfort food.  This pot pie recipe from Epicurious isn’t the rich and creamy pot pie that usually comes to mind, but it is still darn good.  The filling is made with chicken, haricots verts, baby carrots, onion, bacon, and the secret ingredient crème fraîche.  Add in the marjoram and you have yourself one tasty meal. Cut out time by using chicken from a rotisserie chicken at the market and using frozen puff pastry for the crust.  I promise–no one will complain!  You also don’t need a pie pan for this dish, just do it in whatever shape you have!

I apologize for the not-so-excellent pictures, I left my camera at home ;/

