Valentine’s Treats

Although Valentine’s Day has passed, I still wanted to share this cookie recipe (with Mardi Gras this past weekend I think I get a free late pass).  I don’t think I’m some huge Valentine’s sap, but I am a BIG holiday person.  I take any excuse to make a day more special than another and bake some treats for the people you love.  My roommates and I had the most fun baking all day and decorating these cookies, somehow in our house the expression when it rains it pours translates to baked goods.  I used Martha Stewart’s Valentine Cookie recipe–they tasted great but the cookie did expand a little from the cookie cutter shape, just a warning!  We dunked some in chocolate, some in chocolate and oreo crumbs and also made some of our own Linzer style cookies with raspberry jam–all winners.

