Fudge-a-Mania

When I was little I loved those Hershey’s Cookies ‘n’ Creme bars.  I was always the little kid who secretly added it to the conveyor belt at the check out counter without Mom seeing.  As I grew up, my sweet tooth turned on white chocolate and became partial to dark chocolate, but I still have that cookies ‘n’ creme craving every so often–usually I satisfy the craving with Cookie Monster Ice Cream from Creole Creamery (#1 STOP FOR ICE CREAM IN NOLA!) but this time I decided to make some fudge.  Fudge is so simple to make and who doesn’t enjoy it?  You can google Cookies ‘n’ Creme Fudge and almost every recipe is the same, but I included the one I used below.  The fudge was very rich, so don’t make the mistake of cutting yourself off a brownie size portion unless your ready for it.

Ingredients

    • 3 cups granulated sugar
    • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) butter or margarine
    • 2/3 cup (5-fluid-ounce can) evaporated milk
    • 2 cups (12-ounce pkg.) white morsels
    • 1 jar (7 ounces) marshmallow creme
    • 1/2 cup finely crushed cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies
    • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional)
    • 1 cup crumbled cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies

 Instructions:
1. Line 9-inch-square baking pan with foil.
2. Combine sugar, butter and evaporated milk in medium, heavy-duty saucepan. Bring to a full rolling boil, stirring constantly. Boil, stirring constantly, for 3 minutes. Remove from heat.
3. Stir in morsels, marshmallow creme, finely crushed cookies and vanilla extract. Pour into prepared pan. Sprinkle crumbled cookies on top. Gently swirl cookies into fudge using a knife without touching bottom of pan. Refrigerate for 1 hour or until firm. Lift from pan; remove foil. Cut into 48 pieces. Store in airtight container in refrigerator. Yield: Makes 24 servings (2 pieces each).
