Spiced Chipotle Honey Chicken Breasts with Sweet Potatoes

I’ve never been good at making dinners based off of what I have in the fridge, mostly because I have so many recipes I want to try out I never feel like settling for something.  I’m happy to say this meal is made up of almost all grocery staples-that is if sweet potatoes are a usual buy for you and why wouldn’t they be?  This Spiced Chipotle Honey Chicken Recipe was delicious–just spicy enough but not enough to interfere with enjoying the meal.  I tweaked the recipe a bit, using whole chicken breasts skin on, bone in instead of plain jane boneless-skinless (I always think skin gives the chicken more flavor), and I doubled the sauce recipe in order to have more for serving.  The instructions say to cook the chicken on top of the sweet potatoes, but I was cooking enough chicken I had to do the two separate–still turned out great.

Spiced Chipotle Honey Chicken Breasts with Sweet Potatoes

adapted from In the Kitchen with a Good Appetite, by Melissa Clark serves 6

Ingredients:

  • 4 sweet potatoes (10 ounces each), peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 3 Tbs olive oil
  • 4 chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, minced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 Tbs honey, plus more for drizzling
  • 1 Tbs apple cider vinegar
  • 1 1/4 tsp kosher salt, plus more to taste
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 2 lbs)
  • chopped cilantro, for garnish

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Place the sweet potatoes in a medium bowl.
  2. In a small bowl, mix together 1 tablespoon of the olive oil, chipotles, garlic, honey, vinegar, salt, cumin, and cinnamon. Mix the remaining 2 tablespoons of olive oil with 2 teaspoons of the paste. Toss with the sweet potatoes. **I made about double the sauce, also added extra cumin and cinnamon
  3. Scatter the potatoes on the bottom of a roasting pan, and bake 15 minutes. Meanwhile, rub the chicken breasts with the remaining paste.
  4. Stir the potatoes. Carefully place the chicken on top of the sweet potatoes, and continue to roast until the chicken is just cooked through (registers 165 on an instant read thermometer), about 15-20 minutes longer **My chicken took about 45 min to cook
  5. Divide the potatoes and chicken evenly among serving plates and drizzle with remaining honey and garnish with cilantro. Serve.
