Marble Muffins

I am embarrassed at how long it has been since my last post, especially because I’ve had pictures and recipes just sitting on my computer waiting for me to upload.  I can blame it on end of the year festivities, graduation, studying for the LSAT, starting working…but I don’t want to use excuses.  I’ve always tried to make time for cooking, baking, and blogging.  I enjoy it thoroughly, and no matter how busy you are, you should always make time for those things special to you.

Now onto food.  I made these muffins with my roommate a month or so back.  They are absolutely gorgeous, and the great thing about them is they are versatile: eat them for breakfast, a snack, or dessert.  The recipe is from Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes.  I highly recommend any of her cupcake recipes, I’ve made many including Snickerdoodle Cupcakes. You can add frosting or powdered sugar to them to top them off, but I enjoyed them by themselves.  Look at for more posts soon, I welcome any suggestions and ideas!ImageImageImageImage

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients

1 3/4 Cups cake flour (not self-rising), sifted
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 cup milk, room temperature
1/3 heavy cream, room temperature
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
3 large eggs, room temperature
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/3 cup unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
1/4 cup boiling water

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line standard muffin tins with paper liners. Stir together cake flour, baking powder, and salt. Combine milk and cream.

2. With an electric mixer on medium-high speed, cream butter and granulated sugar until pale and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating until each is incorporated, scraping down sides of bowl as needed. Beat in vanilla. Add flour mixture in three batches, alternating with two additions of milk mixture, and beating until combined.

3. To make chocolate batter, measure out 1 cup batter, and transfer to another bowl. Combine cocoa and the boiling water in a bowl. Stir into reserved 1 cup batter.

4. Fill prepared cups with alternating spponfulls of vanilla and chocolate batter, filling each three-quarters full. Run the tip of a paring knife or wooden skewer through batter in a figure-eight motion to make swirls. Bake, rotating tins halfway through, until tops are golden and a cake tester (i.e. toothpick) inserted in centers comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Transfer tins to wire racks to cool completely before removing cupcakes. Cupcakes can be stored overnight at room temperature, or frozen up to 2 months, in airtight container.

