The LBD of Cakes: Simple Chocolate Cake

I have always been a chocolate person, I just can’t seem to live without.  My favorite has switched, from white chocolate to milk and now dark. You’ll always find a bar of dark chocolate in my purse for after a meal.  For those who say they don’t like chocolate, I honestly can’t find a way to understand.  Not liking spinach, ok FINE, but chocolate? How can you miss out on one of the sweet (semi, or bitter) things in life?  You poor souls.  Perhaps if you had a taste of this cake, you might finally change your mind.  I made this cake for my co-worker’s birthday and used Barefoot Contessa’s “Beatty’s Chocolate Cake” recipe and it was divine.  I only made one adjustment-I used hazelnut coffee instead of regular, which added great flavor and the cake produced an amazing aroma when baking.  I was surprised at how easy the cake was to make, nothing fancy to this recipe!  I do want to share with you the tips I’ve learned along the way for cake decorating.  After you cool your cakes, trim down one of the cakes so that it is flat, this will be the bottom layer (cut down both if you want your cake top flat).  Wrap the cakes in Saran wrap tightly and foil and freeze overnight, or at least 3 hours.  Freezing the cakes makes it SO much easier to ice.  When icing, never let your spatula touch the cake, there should always be enough icing in between the cake and the icing. You can dip your spatula in water and go over the icing to get out any bumps and make it smooth.  With these suggestions and this cake recipe, your ready to impress your guests!

