Mission Mac’n’Cheese

I love the idea of comfort food.  Whether it is your mom’s signature dish, a favorite danish at the local bakery, or matzo ball soup when you’re sick, we all have foods that put us at ease.  Mac’n’Cheese is one of those things you grew up eating as a kid, but I think everyone would agree you don’t lose the taste for it as you age.  Perhaps you are like me, and instead of buying Kraft SpongeBob mac’n’cheese you have expanded your taste to dishes with gouda and gruyere, but any variation seems to do the trick.  My latest preference is baked mac’n’cheese, I love the crunch the bread crumb crust adds to the dish.  What I found when searching for recipes is how many variations there are of such a simple dish, it was almost impossible to choose! I ended up using Cooks Illustrated recipe after some advice from my mom.  The only change I made is to use Panko, Japanese breadcrumbs, instead of the traditional breadcrumb topping listed in the recipe.  The Panko gives the mac’n’cheese a light crunchy topping and the flakes tend to stay crunchier for longer than traditional breadcrumbs.  Although this recipe isn’t necessarily “easy-mac,” the finished product is well worth the effort.  See for yourself…

