Who Said Cake Needs Flour?

As I’ve admitted before, I have a severe weakness for chocolate.  The good news about this obsession is that there seems to be an endless list of forms from which I can get my chocolate fix.  When my friend’s birthday was approaching, a friend who shares this adoration for chocolate, I knew a chocolate birthday cake was in order.  Because I had made a traditional chocolate cake earlier this summer, I decided to go with a chocolate flourless cake, a Bon Appétit recipe I found on Epicurious.  I grew up looking forward to this cake at the end of our Passover seder, where it was served with a raspberry sauce–talk about a great combo.  While the usual protocol is to flip the cake so the flaky top is on the bottom, I kept mine right-side up.   This recipe was more “cakey” than the usual dense cake I was used to, but still amazing taste, something similar to half-baked brownies…

