Asian BBQ Ribs

When I was little, one of my favorite meals was barbecued ribs, I would even ask for them for my birthday meal! Needless to say my lanky 7-yr old self would leave almost all the meat on the bones, yet get the sauce over my entire face.  Today, I find myself rarely cooking meat, but it doesn’t mean I have lost my cravings for those ribs.  As I may have mentioned before, I “dabble” in pork (meaning I try not to eat it, but if something good comes along I don’t hesitate that much).  Last week I made my mom’s recipe for Asian ribs–it couldn’t be simpler! The ribs are coated first with a dry rub then paired with a wet Hoisin Garlic Sauce.  If you have never heard of the company Soy Vay–I highly recommend their products-and what a great name!  We made the ribs on the grill to speed up time, but my mom has done them in the oven as well.  I paired the ribs with some roasted green beans.  My next purchase is an electronic wok and steamer basket–my aunt and uncle have made great vegetables with that method.  These ribs come out perfectly moist, yet the marinade has a sweet and crispy glaze from the grill–delicious.

photo

Recipe:

  1. Coat a rack of either beef or pork ribs with Chinese Five Spice rub. You can add salt and pepper to taste as well
  2. BBQ the ribs dry for about 30 minutes
  3. Remove the ribs and cover with Soy Vay Hoisin Garlic Marinade Sauce.  We covered the ribs in foil and returned to the grill for another 20-30minutes or so.
  4. If you choose to do the ribs in the oven–coat with the dry rub and roast in the oven on a foiled baking pan for about an hr at 250 F.  Add the marinade and return to oven for another hr or until ready.
  5. Green beans: Toss beans in olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper. Spread out on a baking pan and bake about 15min at 425 F. Remove and toss with fresh chopped garlic, return to oven for a couple more minutes until done.

Easy as that! You may need some additional time for the ribs, you could also remove the foil from the ribs at the very end to allow them to get crispy on the grill. Enjoy!!

