Bravo, Brussels

Many people claim they hate brussels sprouts.  Most likely these haters were forced to eat soggy brussels from a cafeteria as a child, unforgivably ruining their experience with the vegetable forever.  Surely, they have never tried Smitten Kitchen’s Balsamic Braised Brussels Sprout Recipe–a recipe that converts all haters into brussels aficionados.  I’ve noticed recently that it seems brussels are back in style.  You find them on menus of all sorts, dazzled up with foodie mix ins like pancetta, or shredded to make a brussels sprouts salad.  My recipe in today’s post is more of a “semi-home made” recipe, but perfect for a quick weeknight dinner side.  I toss the halved sprouts in a bit of olive oil, s&p, then roast in the oven at 425 F.  I love eating the chips that are made out of the outer layers that fall off–they beat kale chips in my opinion.  After roasting, I tossed them in Soy Vay’s Veri Veri Teriyaki.  If you don’t have this sauce, you can toss with caramelized shallots or roasted garlic, soy sauce, toasted sesame seeds and a bit of sriracha to add a kick.  Enjoy this easy dish and jump on the brussels bus!

photo(1)

Bonus Recipe: I’ve had this one bookmarked but haven’t gotten the chance to make yet: http://www.nytimes.com/2010/11/10/dining/10chefrex4.html?_r=1&

