My Favorite Treat

This recipe was actually the reason I learned how to bake, I cannot believe I haven’t shared it yet.  One of my mom’s favorite cook books, The Encore Nashville Junior League Cookbook, is filled with old southern comfort recipes: pies, tarts, biscuits, popovers, you name it.  There is one page in our book, that is tattered and worn beyond the rest: the Banana Bread recipe.  My mom would make this growing up–I can honestly say no other banana bread compares.  As a chocolate lover, we always made the treat even sweeter by adding chocolate chips instead of nuts. Once I started baking basics, my mom caught on and suggested that if I wanted banana bread, I needed to learn how to make it.  While not the hardest recipe, it isn’t your average quick bread, but it is well worth the little bit of extra effort. This recipe reminds me of home, but also of the start of my passion for food and cooking.  It yields two loaves, which lasts about 3-4 days in my kitchen at home.  If this banana bread is around, I start my day with a slice paired with my coffee and find myself ending my day warming up a slice for dessert.  In fact, I think it’s about dessert time now…

photo(1)

Cho Chip Banana Bread

2/3 cup shortening

1 ½ cups sugar

2 eggs, separated

1 cup mashed bananas*

1 ½ cups sifted flower**

1 tsp baking soda

¼ tsp salt

4 tbls. Sour cream

½ tsp vanilla

½ cup nuts, or 1 cup chocolate chips…or both

*If you have bananas that start to go bad, pop them in your freezer for later–I always have a couple in my freezer in case I’m craving this treat 🙂

**You can also use whole wheat flour, sometimes I do half regular and half whole wheat if I want to feel like I’m being somewhat “healthy”

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Cream shortening and sugar.  Add beaten egg yolks and bananas.  Blend together flour, soda, and salt.  Add these slowly to banana mixture.  Add sour cream, vanilla, and nuts. Beat egg whites until soft peaks form. Fold in beaten egg whites to the rest of the batter.  Bake in 2 (8x4x3-inch) loaf pans for one hour. You can also bake in muffin tins for about 40min–check on these often.

 

